We handle a variety of allergens on-site so we are not a 'Free From' site.
Our manufacturers also handle a variety of allergens on their sites, so whilst we will always highlight where an allergen is included in the ingredients (bold type) there may also have been exposure to other allergens during manufacture (classed as 'may contain').
Below is a list of the 'may contain' allergens:
If this is a concern please contact us with your specific query, or for individual product 'may contain' information - firstname.lastname@example.org.
We often get asked what some of the ingredients are in our products. Here is a list of some of the more commonly occurring ingredients.
|Ingredient||What it is|
|E100||Natural colour isolated from the roots and stem of Yellowroot (Curcuma longa and Curcuma domestica). Turmeric is the crude extract, whereas curcumin is the purified compound. It imparts the yellow colour to curry powder. It is a natural food colouring and can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians|
|E120||Natural red food colour isolated from the insects Dactylopius coccus, living on different species of succulents. As it is extracted from insects, E120 cannot be consumed by vegans and vegetarians and neither by some religious groups|
|E131||Also referred to as Paten Blue V. A synthetic blue colour. E131 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians.|
|E133||Also referred to as Brilliant Blue. A synthetic blue colour. E131 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians|
|E141||A natural green colour, which is present in all plants and algae. E141 is commercially extracted from nettles, grass and alfalfa. Due to chemical de-esterification of chlorophyll, phaeophytins are formed.|
|E153||Also referred to a Carbon Black. Natural element, produced by burning vegetable matter. E153 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians|
|E163||Anthocyanins and anthocyanidins are a large group of natural colours. The colour of most fruits, flowers and berries is made up from a combination of anthocyanins and anthocyanidins. Anthocyanins always contain a carbohydrate molecule, whereas anthocyanidins lack this molecule. The individual compounds are isolated from different plant species. E163(i)-(iii) are mixtures|
|E171||Titanium Dioxide is a natural white mineral. White colour for surface coating, used to separate layers in products; whitening agent in toothpaste|
|E172||Iron Oxides are natural minerals, but commercially made from iron powder.|
|E174||Natural Silver used for coating|
|E464||Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose is prepared from cellulose, the main polysaccharide and constituent of wood and all plant structures. It is used mainly as a thickening agent and emulsifier|
Cellulose is the main polysaccharide and constituent of wood and all plant structures. Commercially prepared from wood. It has many different uses, mainly as thickening agent, but also as filler, dietary fibre, anti clumping agent and emulsfier.
|E470b||Magnesium salts of fatty acids. Often used as a stabiliser or emulsifier. Although mainly vegetable oils are used, the use of animal fat (incl. pork) can not be excluded. Several groups, such as vegans, Muslims and Jews thus avoid these products|
|E472||Esters of synthetic fats, produced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fatty acids are mainly from plant origin, but also fats of animal origin may be used. The product generally is a mixture of different components, with a composition similar to partially digested natural fat esterified with other natural acids. It is used as an emulsifier and stabiliser.|
|Sometimes listed on ingredients as E901. It is a natural polymer produces by bees. It is often used as a coating or glazing agent. E901 can be used by all religious groups, vegetarians, as it does not contain animals. The wax is an exudate of the bees and so it is often not acceptable for Vegans.|
|Sometimes listed on ingredients as E904. Natural polymer derived from the excretion of the Lac beetle. It is often used as a coating or glazing agent. E904 can be used by all religious groups and vegetarians (though some still prefer to avoid products containing it). Vegans generally avoid the product. These are eliminated during purification.|
If you have any questions, or we are missing any E numbers which you would like more information on, please get in touch